Gallery

Interview Me

The interview process is always the part that excites me.  I know the simple steps in order to attempt to impress someone.  So I usually just dive right in.  It’s kind of amazing how well I do at interviewing.  I love to research the company that I am interviewing for at least a day ahead of the interview or that morning.  Getting to know the key points of what this company stands for and is looking for are impressive conversation topics while interviewing.intvw

Understanding the position you are interviewing for and knowing details from your past to be able to back up your experience are keys to winning the undivided attention from the Interviewer.

They will ask you what makes you feel qualified for the position? Or Name a situation where you had to resolve a disagreement between two customers and how you handled that?  Be ready to be on your toes for questions like those.

interview-checklist-large

I always have a few stories from my past job scenarios that for some reason haven’t left my memory yet, that I use over and over again, adding things and taking away things per the position or the question and the way it is being asked.

I worked for Checksmart, The Corporate Office fielding phone calls for the new Bridge Account Customer Care Team.  I received a phone call from a woman who had received one of the insight cards we were selling.  I then describe what the product was, and what the catch is and how it was affecting customers.  The woman had her check direct deposited to the card, and had already spent the credit line, and her pay check.  There was not enough money on the card, for her to go to the pharmacy and get her medicine because she had been bitten by a Brown Recluse Spider.

The woman explained she had a hole on her side, and it was full of gauze!!! She needed me to do something about there being money on her card, in order for her to purchase her medicine.  Now,  I could not calm the woman down, but I did not laugh about the situation until I disconnected the phone call.

I had to stay calm myself because she was so upset.  We could not disconnect, I felt bad for the woman but there was nothing I could do for her.  So I had to listen to her story, of how she was bitten by a brown recluse spider, and how she now has a hole in the side of her hip, full of gauze.

Just something I spit for customer service, patience comforting story if you will.  They usually ask me some unique question that helps me become personable and speak on my mothering duties or family matters.

It’s important to remain confident in anything you say and do.  Even when you mess it up.  Stay confident!  Broaden those shoulders, keep your chin up, and eyes wide open.

9343421_motivational-quotes-to-get-you-through-finals_tf8e86fd7.jpg

It’s really helpful to catch the Interviewers sense of humor.  Get them to laugh, Not knowingly of course, but add some personality to your explanations.  In the customer service world or the food industry, PERSONALITY and character are KEY!!

There will be times where you won’t get the job, but I usually remind myself that something better is coming along.  Something more beneficial, more worth my time is on its way.   Everything happens for a reason.

Sure enough, something better and more fitting always comes along.  When you interview for that one and knock it out of the park, you will understand why you weren’t called back for the other interview.

It’s always good to apply to as many jobs as you can in as many fields as you think you can manage. Being well rounded in 2017 is the best bet you can bet.  Gaining experience helps you learn and while you are learning, who knows you may just stumble right into your dream career.

Whether it be the job itself or the connections you gain just from working that one position and consistently moving in the right direction.  Networking is an awesome way to move up the ladder in any industry.  It’s not all about who you know.  But it has something to do with it!

8506683

P.s. Always be thinking while they are speaking, about a question or two to have. Make sure they are not obvious questions.  Good questions!

 

 

Leave a Reply

